[SOLVED] MTG Studio 1.6.4 Migration to 1.6.5

Lists all imlemented suggestions or issues solved.

[SOLVED] MTG Studio 1.6.4 Migration to 1.6.5

Postby gaddlord » Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:25 pm

Paul Vervalin wrote:Is there a procedure for upgrading to the latest version of MTG Studio? What happens if I just install the new version over the old version? Why does upgrading cause all my configuration settings to reset? All the card art appears to just remain in the old version. Sorry for all the questions I am new to this S/W and just want to understand how to upgrade properly and be able to retain my settings and not lose all my card art.

Am I supposed to delete the old versions since it appears that all the decks, etc are just installed again?
GET LATEST STABLE https://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team

Postby gaddlord » Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:25 pm

MTG Studio does not have a good upgrade path (as Firefox for example has).
Currently each new version is installed into a separate folder and has completely default configuration settings, card art folders and decks.

In order to “migrate” from 1.6.4 to 1.6.5 for example you can do the following:
1. Copy the “C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\MTG Studio 1.6.4\Card Art” folder over “C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\MTG Studio 1.6.5\Card Art”
2. Use File|Import wizard to import the “C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\MTG Studio 1.6.4\mtgstudio.collection” collection file
3. To migrate your configuration settings you can copy the “C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\MTG Studio 1.6.4\Configuration” folder over “C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\MTG Studio 1.6.5\Configuration” folder. NOT RECOMMENDED.
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team

Re: MTG Studio 1.6.4 Migration to 1.6.5

Postby gaddlord » Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:37 pm