Applying Filters or Advanced Searches 1-2 minutes

General ideas, features requests, comments, concerns, complaints about MTG Studio desktop application

Moderator: gaddlord

Applying Filters or Advanced Searches 1-2 minutes

Postby King_Yoshi » Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:54 pm

Whenever I apply a new filter or do an advanced search, it takes a minimum of 1 minute or longer to complete. I have even walked away from my computer, mad ea sandwich, came back and the it was still not done.

I am running the program alone, without anything else running.

I am running it on a brand new custom built computer.

Specs:

Operating System
Windows 7 Professional
CPU
Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition 3.33GHZ
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage III Extreme LGA
Memory
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB DDR3
Graphics Card
EVGA 015-P3-1482-AR GeForce GTX 480 SuperC
Hard Drive
Intel X25-M Mainstream SSD 2.5" 160GB
Power Supply
CORSAIR Professional Series AX1200 1200W ATX12V
CPU cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Monitor
2x Samsung 23 inch

Even when I just "OK" out of applying filters it takes a few minutes.


Is there some way of fixing this problem? Am I doing something wrong?
King_Yoshi
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:15 pm

Postby King_Yoshi » Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:29 am

Can anyone help me with this? It is getting on my nerves.
King_Yoshi
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:15 pm

Postby Chellew620 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:19 am

gaddlord wrote:Status report:

- I have migrated the prices in a separate mtgstudio.prices file
- I have migrated the card pool database to the new db format
- I have recoded the File|Import wizard to import in the new 3.0 collection format
- I have recoded the 2.0 mtgstudio.collection file to be saved in the new 3.0 collection format
- I am currently recoding the decks internal presentation to use in-memory database instead of physical one.

After this is done I can continue on Prices updates.

There is a huge benefit of doing all of those prior to finishing Prices.
- size of database hfw file
- size of collection file
- size of prices file
- speed of loading
- speed of adding a card to a collection of 100 000+ collection is decreased 40 times
- speed of the Filter is now lightning fast
- in the future ability to compare card pool vs deck vs collection availability


As you can see, Gaddlord is aware of the speed issues and has fixed them in the upcoming 1.8.3 release.
User avatar
Chellew620
Apprentice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:17 am

Postby gaddlord » Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:00 pm

I have much lower end virtual machine with Windows on which I develop MTG Studio (1 CPU 2.33 GHz, 1 GB RAM and Windows 7) and it takes 1-2 seconds for a regular search.

Maybe your filter is too complex.

Can you go to Search|Advanced Filter and Save the filter to .flt file.

Send the filter to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com for evaluation.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby King_Yoshi » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:19 pm

Sure,, but the only filter setting I put on is filter by pauper only cards...

That was it.

It doesn't matter how complex or simple the settings are, they all seem to take an equal amount of time.

Below is a link to 2shared site that i uploaded the file to.

http://www.2shared.com/file/MVIM1rjD/pauper_Search.html
King_Yoshi
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:15 pm

Postby gaddlord » Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:33 pm

I found it. Thank you for reporting it.

Whenever you choose Format from the dropdown list the list of valid editions for this format is preselected in the Editions grid.

Since Pauper is valid for all editions MTG Studio was creating a filter and checked each single card if being part of a 108 editions list. This turns to b completely not needed as a filter condition.

This will be fixed in the forthcoming MTG Studio 1.8.3.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby King_Yoshi » Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:05 pm

Glad to hear it will be fixed. Thank you for looking into it!

Can't wait for the next version to come out!!
King_Yoshi
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:15 pm


Return to General Discussions (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron