Weird errors while loading.

Report a MTG Studio bug you have spotted or ask for help

Moderator: gaddlord

Weird errors while loading.

Postby ZeroSigma » Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:09 am

When I open MtG:S, the splashscreen shows and starts loading stuff:
When it comes to "Loading card definitions..." an error message
pops up - Title "MtG Studio Prerelease" Message "Unknown" with an OK button,
when I click on the ok button it continues loading until it comes
to "Loading menus..." then it shows the same error message. I press OK again,
now "Creating filters..." show and same error message. I press OK again and
get the "Access violation at address 00DCCA63 in module 'mtgstudio.exe'.
Read of address 00000000". Now MtGStudio is loaded but all datagrids are empty
of cards.
Ok so now I close the app. and get the same error message "Access violation at
address 00CC01C7 in module 'mtgstudio.exe'. Read of address 0000003C".

MtG:S has become unuseable :(

I had Magic Suitcase installed before I had MtG:S and had both installed
after I saw that MS was inferior to MtG:S. Everything worked fine until my
copy expired and it gave me that message about "Enter key", "Order"... etc.
I then went and bought it online and entered the key, its then that I started
to get the above mentioned problem.
I uninstalled MS and MtG:S and only install MtG:S, to no avail.

Help...!

//-----------------
// System Specs
//-----------------
Pentium4 2.4Ghz HT
1gig DDR400 RAM
WindowsXP sp 2 (with all current hotfixes, updated weekly)

//My computer is has MS SQL Server 2000 running as well as MS .Net Framework 2
//Visual Studio 2005 is also installed and I'm using McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8
ZeroSigma
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:03 am
Location: South-Africa

Postby gaddlord » Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:30 am

Can yoy please start the application with /log command parameter and send the generated log file to gaddlord@palmroot.com.

The log file is located in C:\Documents and Settings\XXX\Application Data\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.0.0 folder where XXX stands for the username used to log in the Windows.

Please have in mind that Magic Suitcase causes severe damages to your Windows instllation and most of the cases Windows reinstallment will be necessary. Read more at http://mtgstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... c+suitcase
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby ZeroSigma » Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:37 am

Nooooooooooooooooo, I realy realy don't want to re-install windows :(
This is my development box so it is a nasty slep to setup everything the way I like it afterwards.
ZeroSigma
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:03 am
Location: South-Africa

Postby Rutger » Sat Feb 25, 2006 5:09 am

Why don't you try to boot into safe mode, and from there uninstall everything related to Suitcase. Also run regedit and remove all keys pointing towards Suitcase. Uninstall MTGStudio like that as well.

Reboot and re-install MTGStudio and re-enter your username and password. I am not sure if it does the trick. When the Jet and MDAC are corrupted you can re-install these as well.

You can use the following tool to reinstall and repair:

http://www.zuggsoft.com/data/

Let us know if this problem is fixable...

Regards
Make software idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot
User avatar
Rutger
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Belgium

Weird errors while loading.

Postby ynot » Thu May 18, 2006 7:52 pm

Well, it's apparent ZeroSigma gave up but we haven't. Now that you've got our money...

We got the same crash after installation and startup.

The problem appears to be that your app crashes against the MDAC 2.8 in XP SP 2.

We start up and get splash, then three "Unknown <OK>" dialogs, then the access violation.

Help! You may need to re-build the app with updated MDAC .LIB files. Or if it's the Zuggsoft stuff, you may need an update.

May 18, 2006 08:43:44 [340] ? Application started ?
May 18, 2006 08:43:44 [340] CMD-PARAMS: "C:\Program Files\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.2\mtgstudio.exe" /log
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [041] System Information:
+ OS
- OS Version = Windows XP
- Service Packs = Service Pack 2
- Current User = Administrator
- IE Version = 6.0.2900.2877
- Themes = True
+ CPU
- Vendor = GenuineIntel
- Speed = 997.96 MHz
+ RAM
- Available Memory = 384
+ HDD
- Free size on C: = 806 MB
- Total size on C: = 7115 MB
+ Display
- Resolution = 2048 x 768
- Bits per Pixel = 32 bits
- Refresh Rate = 60 Hz
+ Internet
- Host = [redacted]
- Host IP = 192.168.1.106
- Auto Proxy = False
- Proxy Host = Unassigned
- Proxy Port = 0
- Win Socks Version = 2.2
+ Database
- Jet Provider = Jet 4.0 Service Pack 8 Security Bulletin MS04-014
- MDAC Version = 2.8
+ MSXML
- MSXML = True
- MSXML 2.0 = True
- MSXML 2.6 = True
- MSXML 3.0 = True
- MSXML 4.0 = True
- MSXML 5.0 = False
- MSXML 6.0 = False
- Mode = Replace V3
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [041] Creating clipboard...
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [051] Loading legality bitmaps
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [051] Creating workflow.
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [051] Customizing installation directory.
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [492] Connecting to database
May 18, 2006 08:43:45 [852] Loading custom notes...
May 18, 2006 08:43:46 [113] Loading D'Angelo rules...
May 18, 2006 08:43:46 [744] Loading Oracle rules...
May 18, 2006 08:43:47 [054] Opening database resources.
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:43:47:104 in [dmDecker] Address: $C02303 Unknown
May 18, 2006 08:43:48 [386] Creating main screen...
May 18, 2006 08:43:49 [037] Initializing main screen...
May 18, 2006 08:43:49 [037] Loading banner resources.
May 18, 2006 08:43:49 [938] Loading Buy resources.
May 18, 2006 08:43:49 [948] Loading menus configuration.
May 18, 2006 08:43:49 [948] Loading menus...
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:43:49:978 in [frmDecker] Address: $C02303 Unknown
May 18, 2006 08:43:50 [599] Main screen created...
May 18, 2006 08:43:50 [599] Loading card art paths.
May 18, 2006 08:43:50 [599] Loading last edited deck...
May 18, 2006 08:43:50 [599] Creating filers...
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:43:50:759 in [frmFilter] Address: $C02303 Unknown
May 18, 2006 08:43:51 [310] ? Application runing ?
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:43:53:313 in [frmDecker.bmDecker.TdxBarControl] Address: $C02303 tblDecks: Cannot perform this operation on a closed dataset
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:44:01:174 in [frmDecker.bbExit] Address: $C02303 Access violation at address 00970FB7 in module 'mtgstudio.exe'. Read of address 0000003C
Thursday 18-May-2006 08:44:03:077 in [TApplication] Address: $C02303 Access violation at address 00DF8F2C in module 'mtgstudio.exe'. Read of address 00000000
ynot
Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby ynot » Thu May 18, 2006 8:20 pm

Found the problem: it's Microsoft SQL Server 2000a's advanced MDAC drivers. I installed it on another machine that didn't have it, and it works fine. This is clearly ZeroSigma's problem, as well.

Uninstalling SQL Server does not solve the problem--whatever MDAC or Jet components got installed, remain after uninstallation.
ynot
Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby ynot » Thu May 18, 2006 8:25 pm

OK, now it starts...but InetCntrl.exe crashes the system.

After rebooting and restarting, we get Error: Access violation at 0x7C8024E5 (tried to write to 0x0FA30E88), program terminated.

Will the crashes ever stop? This is a completely vanilla WinXP SP2 machine with nothing exotic. The only thing on here beyond SP2 is the .NET Framework 1.1 and also 2.0.
ynot
Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby gaddlord » Fri May 19, 2006 6:32 am

MTG Studio uses Microsoft Data Access Components and especially its Access Jet Provider to access the card pool database.

Will the crashes ever stop?

Yes. The cure is simple - do not rely on MDAC (Microsoft Data Access Components) since they are 3-rd party product which can easily be updated by any Microsoft program such as Microsoft Office, Internet Explorer, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Biztalk, or even Magic Suitcase etc.

The next major version of MTG Studio (2.0) will not use Access database to store the card pool data but rather its own database format which is not 3-rd party dependant - no additional database drivers will be required such as MDAC, Borland Database Engine,etc.

This will fix the most severe MTG Studio open issue - database driver corruption. :wink:

For now the only solution is trying to repair the drivers using this tool
http://www.zuggsoft.com/data/
But this tool does not fix the problem all the times.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby ehei » Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:35 pm

Wow, had I know this used MS Access on the back end, I probably wouldn't have spent the money.

Access spells doom - every time.

So when is 2.0 coming out?

Or, maybe, a beta version we could test for you? ;)
ehei
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 11:24 am

Postby gaddlord » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:37 am

Currently I am finishing the Card Pool. Whenever it is ready for beta test I will release a version.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby Plague Fiend » Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:46 pm

***BUMP***


I've now got the exact same problem on my Laptop, which is really pooh : ( I have tried the older versions and tried to start it up from my main computer on a network jsut to test all possibilities but no joy

I knew the solution was here already so no need to start a new thread

The access violation error I get 00970FCF at address 0000003C on the Laptop is almost the same through the network 00970FB7 at address 0000003C

I'm just gonna try that zuggsoft link so I'll report back as soon as poss
The Insect is dead - Long live the Fiend!!
~
Today they sent me a fishing magazine, which just reminds me how I loath towns
~
User avatar
Plague Fiend
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Strung ount on heaven's high hitting an all time low

Postby Plague Fiend » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:22 pm

Oh bummer it's gonna be harder to fix than I thought
apparently my MDAC is all up to date and won't re-install by itself
confusing thing both computers have the same version (seeing as they both use the same XP installation) but it's only the laptop that won't play with MTGStudio anymore
I guess I musta deleted some crappy micrsoft file that was more important than it pretended :shrug:
hope I can fix it cos I can't really reinstall windows (pirated install disk, the laptop disk got scratched years ago)

the other odd thing is the so called newest MDAC version is dated April 2004 ????
just trying a patch (when it downloads) so see what that says...

hehehe what are the chances of getting a Linux version of MTGS ;)
The Insect is dead - Long live the Fiend!!
~
Today they sent me a fishing magazine, which just reminds me how I loath towns
~
User avatar
Plague Fiend
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Strung ount on heaven's high hitting an all time low

Postby Plague Fiend » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:39 pm

hmmm see if this works
It wouldn't install MDAC on the version of windows I had so I unpacked the files and changed a bit of the ini file so that it didn't look for the windows version....it seemes to have unpacked & says it's installed.....wait for reboot & see if I crashed the whole thing hehehehe....reboots okay but still has an "unknown" MDAC version with the component checker and all the files are still 2004
bummer, now to see if the security patch does anything....



#edit#

nope, a stupid popup box "An error occurred while setup was trying to verify the version of Microsoft Data Access Components currently installed on this machine.
Either the version currently installed does not match the version of this hotfix package or setup was unable to determine the version currently installed."

dammitt
I'll find a way, even i have to use a rusty axe :twisted:
The Insect is dead - Long live the Fiend!!
~
Today they sent me a fishing magazine, which just reminds me how I loath towns
~
User avatar
Plague Fiend
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:50 am
Location: Strung ount on heaven's high hitting an all time low


Return to Bugs (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron