Some Individual Cards' Prices Not Showing (maybe not a bug)

Report a MTG Studio bug you have spotted or ask for help

Moderator: gaddlord

Some Individual Cards' Prices Not Showing (maybe not a bug)

Postby Ertzi » Tue May 17, 2011 3:55 pm

This is not an important or urgent matter, but worth asking about. I tried to peruse the forum quickly to see if this issue has been addressed, but I could not find anything, so apologies if this has been dealt with.

I was just wondering if it is normal that none of the foil cards show a price in my collection. Is this an external issue and not MTG Studio's?

Moreover, some select cards' prices will not appear, no matter how many times I try to import the prices. There is no clear logic to them, other than almost all alternative art cards belong to this group [If it has Kjeldoran escort (2) or something similar, the price is not shown]. Many of them are common, so could it be that they are so worthless the program does not even bother assigning a price to them?

However, many are so old that I find it hard to believe they are not worth anything at all, like Giant Trap Door Spider from Ice Age (Yes, that was the new set when I started playing, I am ancient). Basic lands I understand, although one would imagine even some of them would have some value, if they are from a bit more rare expansion.

Like I said, this is not a big issue for me, and I am quite happy to use MTG Studio without these prices, but if I am doing something wrong and I can get the prices to appear, please do tell.
Ertzi
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:53 am
Location: Finland

Postby Schwanke » Tue May 17, 2011 7:19 pm

If I am not mistaken the prices are simply gotten from one or both of the websites you imported prices for. So if the card does not have a listing on either site it will not have a price.

Unfortunately unless Gad can get some more stores to sign on on being a part of his system we are stuck with this limitation. The other option is to use the ebay feature and try and guess a ebay price and put that in manually though I doubt you can put it into the price field directly.
Newest version of the software, beta or otherwise can be found here: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=2
---
My detailed Pricing Feature Suggestions: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1455
Schwanke
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:49 pm

Postby Ertzi » Wed May 18, 2011 9:22 pm

I understand the prices come from an external source, but I checked one priceless (heh) card straight from the original site, magictraders.com in this case, and the card was listed normally there with a price. As there is then no reason not to show the price on MTG Studio, this baffles me.
Ertzi
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:53 am
Location: Finland

Postby CptDobey » Thu May 19, 2011 2:34 am

I have many prices displayed but I have the same issue with P9 cards (alpha, beta and unli): there is no price displayed for those cards.
User avatar
CptDobey
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:09 am

Postby Schwanke » Thu May 19, 2011 3:45 am

That I would call a bug and have to defer to gadlord to see if he can guess why. I kind of thought of that afterwards later cuz I thought hey wait a minute doesnt ABU have prices for everything even if they dont have it in inventory?

But I thought just maybe there was a legit reason along the same lines.
Newest version of the software, beta or otherwise can be found here: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=2
---
My detailed Pricing Feature Suggestions: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1455
Schwanke
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:49 pm

Postby gaddlord » Wed May 25, 2011 4:23 pm

Lets take Mox Opal for example. On ABU Games they have it only for SOM.

http://abugames.com/shop.cgi?command=se ... st&x=0&y=0

If the card store does not provide such prices for A, B, U, R sets I cannot do much.

I am currently working towards having 10 more stores available in MTG Studio.

Meanwhile experiment with the new Online|e-Bay Sales menu to check against e-Bay cards. Maybe you will find so good P9 card prices there.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby CptDobey » Thu May 26, 2011 9:24 am

Hello,

I just installed V 2.0 and have issue with the price update / display.

The steps I followed:
(all prices are 0 in my collection)

- I did a fresh install
- I downloaded MagicTraders prices only
- I updated the prices.

I do not have prices for cards such as "Syndicate", "Vampire Nocturnus", "Polluted Delta", "Balduvian Bears"... The cards I mention here just exist in one edition, thus, the issue is not related, apparently, to the “not featured card syndrome” you described above.

I used the search field on http://www.magictraders.com/ home page and all those cards are present. I was not able to determine why these prices are not handled by MTG Studio.

I hope this helps.
User avatar
CptDobey
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:09 am

Postby chocbudda » Fri Jul 01, 2011 5:04 pm

OK:

If we find the card on eBay...how do we import that price?
chocbudda
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Some Individual Cards' Prices Not Showing (maybe not a b

Postby gaddlord » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:40 pm

A handy explanation of how prices work in MTG Studio at http://mtgstudio.com/wiki/index.php?title=FAQ#How_prices_work_in_MTG_Studio.3F.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re:

Postby gaddlord » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:40 pm

chocbudda wrote:If we find the card on eBay...how do we import that price?


You can put the price in your Buy At, Sell At columns.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re:

Postby gaddlord » Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:30 pm

CptDobey wrote:Hello,

I just installed V 2.0 and have issue with the price update / display.

The steps I followed:
(all prices are 0 in my collection)

- I did a fresh install
- I downloaded MagicTraders prices only
- I updated the prices.

I do not have prices for cards such as "Syndicate", "Vampire Nocturnus", "Polluted Delta", "Balduvian Bears"... The cards I mention here just exist in one edition, thus, the issue is not related, apparently, to the “not featured card syndrome” you described above.

I used the search field on http://www.magictraders.com/ home page and all those cards are present. I was not able to determine why these prices are not handled by MTG Studio.

I hope this helps.

Right! You found an interesting corner case of our price import/assign algo.

In Magic Traders there is just one Polluted Delta

Code: Select all
Card/Figure                     Price StdDev Average    High     Low  Change Raw N
----                            ----- ------ -------  -------  ------ ------ -----
Polluted Delta,                 33.78,  5.91,  34.35,  43.99,  22.00,  0.05,  71


In MTG Studio we have two of them one in Promotional and one in Onslaught sets.
We assign the card price to just the first found (in this case Promotional set since no ordering was specified) and thus adding Polluted Delta from Promo had the right price where Polluted Delta from ONS had $0.00.

Another side effect of this was that verioned cards (Forest (1), Forest (2), etc.) got price assigned for just one of the versions.

This can be considered as bug. We should assign the Pooluted Delta price to both (Onslaught and Promo) reprints.

This is likely to slow down the import process (to 200 cards per second on 3GHz CPU) of Batch Price Lists for Magic Traders but yet it is worth keeping a consistent pricing.

Well spotted! Will be resolved in forthcoming 2.7
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe


Return to Bugs (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron