New 1.8.3 not opening

Report a MTG Studio bug you have spotted or ask for help

Moderator: gaddlord

New 1.8.3 not opening

Postby jradford » Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:16 pm

This is getting old. I have never successfully opened any version of 1.8.3

I made sure the files and folders of prior 1.8.3 was removed
Made a copy of on 1.8.2 database to my desktop
Installed 1.8.3
Start 1.8.3 and it says it sees and old database and to copy it and launch again. I did that, still will not open.
Deleted the 1.8.2 folder, still will not open. Says to use the import function. If the software will not open, how am I supposed to import my old data?


What am I doing wrong here????
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby gaddlord » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:03 pm

As soon as the startup messages apperar, can you please copy their contents (using Ctrl+C) and paste them. I curious to see what exact sequence of messages you get. Thank you.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby jradford » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:15 pm

---------------------------
Warning
---------------------------
The collection file was not recognized as valid 3.0 format collection.

Since version 1.8.3 MTG Studio has a newer, faster, smaller, and more reliable collection format.

1. Copy aside your collection file (C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.8.3\mtgstudio.collection) and restart MTG Studio.

2. Use the File|Import wizard to import collections in the old format.



MTG Studio will be terminated now.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby gaddlord » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:26 pm

I believe you are copying your old mtgstudio.collection file into the 1.8.3 App Data folder.

1. Keep your old 1.8.2 collection on your desktop as a backup
2. Delete the file C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.8.3\mtgstudio.collection
3. Start MTG Studio. It will start with an empty collection
4. Then from File|Import wizard import your 1.8.2 collection saved on your desktop.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby jradford » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:30 pm

there is no mtgstudio.collection file in the 1.8.3 folder
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby gaddlord » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:50 pm

I believe you are looking at the wrong place.


1. In which folder in particular you are currently looking in. Can you send me the full folder name at gaddlord@mtgstudio.com, please?
2. Are youusing portable or standard installer version?
3. Which version of Windows you have?

Having those I believe we may be able to trouble shoot your issue. Thank you for your patience.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby jradford » Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:29 pm

I sent the info, but will post too.

Path is: C:\Program Files (x86)\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.8.3

Did the full install with defaults

Running Windows 7 64 bit
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby gaddlord » Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:01 am

jradford wrote:Path is: C:\Program Files (x86)\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.8.3


The folder where you should search for your mtgstudio.collection file is:

C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\PalmROOT\MTG Studio 1.8.3

where Username is the Windows username you use.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby jradford » Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:09 am

I right clicked on the shortcut and went to where the app was. I will check tonight when I get home.
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby jradford » Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:21 pm

OK, after removing the .collection file from the 1.8.3 folder, I can open and import my collection from 1.8.2.

I ran the update pricing which took a few minutes, but there are still no prices...What am I doing wrong???
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Postby gaddlord » Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:08 pm

1. First go to File|Import|Prices to import prices.
2. Then start File|Update Prices.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2900
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby jradford » Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:07 am

That worked. Collection dropped from about $15000 to $500 :)

$500 sounds more in line.
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am


Return to Bugs (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron