MTG Portable?

General ideas, features requests, comments, concerns, complaints about MTG Studio desktop application

Moderator: gaddlord

MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:17 am

Sorry if this is a stupid question but how do you use Portable on a work pc?

Works fine on my pc and laptop but don't need it as have the full version. If I try at work, where I really need it, it wants an administration account to set up the licence! Doesn't it set the licence when you run at home? It sure comes up with my details
As I say I may be missing something obvious!
Thanks
John
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby gaddlord » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:36 am

License should be setup on both machines. It is not an online activation and thus requires you setup the license on both machines.
Also be aware that you should not lease, give, sell your license to other people. The license is per user. If any of your colleagues or relatives would like to use MTG Studio they should but a separate license.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:05 am

Sorry as I say I may be missinmg something.
Nobody else uses studio except me. I have it on my latop and pc. All is fine.

I assumed portable was a way of running studio on a pc which doesn't have studio installed ie my work pc. USB is fine, admin account is not!

I assumed you installed portable on your usb stick on your host pc. license is found and of you go.

But this is not the case?
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby gaddlord » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:21 pm

I am sorry. I cannot understand your question.

Are you having an issue running MTG Studio?

or Is it that you do not want MTG Studio to run as Administrator?
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:56 pm

sorry
MTG Studio is great, fine and licensed.
Portable can only work on my kit which already has studio.

I assumed portable would be err portable ie I could take it on my stick and use on a pc that doesn't have studio as a portable solution.
Can i use portable like this or is it's intent something else?
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby gaddlord » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:14 pm

We use the term portable in the classic sense meaning "This type of application is stored on a removable storage device such as a CD, USB flash drive, flash card, or floppy disk – storing its program files, configuration information and data on the storage medium alone." more on the definition is available at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portable_application
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:26 pm

Great
It runs fine from the flash drive on my home pc
However on my work pc it will not.
Is there something else I need to do?
Thanks
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby gaddlord » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:57 pm

Sounds like an issue to me.

1. Which OS version?
2. Does it show some error, warning, etc? What it says if such is shown?
3. Do you see it in Task Manager?
4. Describe what happens after you double click over the icon?
5. Have you tried "Run as Administrator"? Does it make difference.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:15 am

1.XP
2."Please run this program from the Administrator account so it can set up your license. Once the license is set up, you can run it from any account"
(this is what surprises me as I have done this, and it shows my registered details, at home)
3. Not the program
4.error as at 2.
5.Not an option on my work pc I am afraid.

Many Thanks

John
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby gaddlord » Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:13 am

OK. Now it is clear. In order to install the MTG Studio license you have to login as Adminsitrator.

The key should be installed on every PC. It is not an Internet Activation key.

This is needed in order the registration key to be processed.

In general MTG Studio requires administrator account to run.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Re: MTG Portable?

Postby johnandalina » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:50 am

oh well, will have to stick to spreadsheets at work then!

Thanks for your responses anyway
johnandalina
Mage
Mage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:51 am


Return to General Discussions (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron