Newbie comments and suggestions

General ideas, features requests, comments, concerns, complaints about MTG Studio desktop application

Moderator: gaddlord

Newbie comments and suggestions

Postby ChiTownMagicGuy » Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:02 am

I download the eval and updated to 1.8.3 Beta.

I am a professional software developer myself (for more than 30 years).

I see a lot of potential power in this program (and I will most likely register it) but it is missing a little polish. Polish is what turns a functional program into a usable program.

Here are my comments and suggestions

1. The help file is almost of no help at all. Context sensitive help would be extremely nice. The help file should explain every aspect of how to operate the program with screen shots or icon images.
Where is the list of what edition abbreviation goes with what edition?
Where is a description of all of the menu selections (for example what does "MTG On Line Only" do?
How do you associate a program with "Find Deck"?
A step by step guide for first time users.

2. Card image updating (especially when updating from one edition to another of the same card) is very slow even the morph and the delay are set to the minimum.

3. Card images are wrong in multiple cases. Dual Lands between Revised and Unlimited for example.

4. Being able to determine the value of a deck rather then just the entire collection would be useful.

5. Getting started from an empty collection is very confusing because of the lack of decent documentation.

6. It should be possible to create the collection by creating decks and then adding the decks to the collection.
ChiTownMagicGuy
Mage
Mage

Postby jradford » Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:39 pm

I like the #6 idea.

Say I buy the Fire & Lightning deck. It would be nice to just add it to my collection instead of all 60 cards individually.

Should get it in a couple days. ;)
jradford
Sorcerer
Sorcerer

Postby Azul » Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:50 am