MTG Studio Does NOT Start UP, on Windows 7 32bit

General ideas, features requests, comments, concerns, complaints about MTG Studio desktop application

Moderator: gaddlord

Postby Schwanke » Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:01 am

I dont know windows 7. Is there compatability mode stuff like in vista/xp where you could tell it to run as an older os? Run as admin? that kind of stuff?

I hope it works for you soon. Somewhere in the next 6 months to a year more then likely possibly sooner I will be replacing my main machine with a machine that runs Windows 7. No sense in buying vista anymore with new machines.
Schwanke
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:49 pm

Postby Inquisitom » Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:09 am

As info, MTG 1.8.2 (both portable and full) runs flawlessly on my Windows7 32b ultimate ... F-Secure activated.


Dude, did you reinstall .NET framework ?
Are you running with an admin user, or not ?
Inquisitom
Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:15 pm

Postby Azul » Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:11 am

Have to ask if you have a legit copy of Windows too. If it's some badly done bootleg version then we might not be able to help you.
User avatar
Azul
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Nitelite » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:00 pm

Bootleg windows shouldn't matter. I am running one (Windows 7) and my MTG Studio runs fine.
Nitelite
Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:07 am

Postby gaddlord » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:42 am

To the list of common "does not start" problems I can add this recommendation.

"Always add MtG Studio to the list of excluded from DEP programs."
More on the topic is available at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_Execution_Prevention

and try this:

http://www.updatexp.com/dep-exceptions.html
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby Schwanke » Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:13 pm

As a follow up I got that machine that runs windows 7 and all the beta's ive tried so far have run fine on it. I have Norton installed as well and that doesnt seem to be an issue either.
Newest version of the software, beta or otherwise can be found here: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=2
---
My detailed Pricing Feature Suggestions: http://www.mtgstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1455
Schwanke
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:49 pm

Postby Jado » Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:25 pm

I was having the same problem with the program loading into memory but not starting...and after i actually put on sp 1 today it has started up...but i had it on the comp for so long trying to get it working i now get the window "Your temporary key has expired. If you believe this message is in error, please contact the program's author." i would love to try out this program before having to buy it...
Jado
Apprentice
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:16 pm

Postby gaddlord » Sat Mar 12, 2011 3:03 pm

Jado wrote:I was having the same problem with the program loading into memory but not starting...and after i actually put on sp 1 today it has started up...but i had it on the comp for so long trying to get it working i now get the window "Your temporary key has expired. If you believe this message is in error, please contact the program's author." i would love to try out this program before having to buy it...

Sorry mate. There is no legal way a trial can be extended. The only solution is to install it on another machine or reinstall Windows.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Previous

Return to General Discussions (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron