Use MTG Studio with your MTGO collection

Suggest improvements and features you'd like to see while creating and editing my collection in MTG Studio...

Use MTG Studio with your MTGO collection

Postby Azul » Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:18 pm

Will there ever be a way to 'add to deck' from MTGO collection.

If you load up MTGO, go to your collection, click the text only button, select all, then right click you can export your whole collection as a .csv file.

I'd much rather use MTG Studio to build decks than use the terrible one that ships with Magic Online. I'd need access to a separate collection file though.
User avatar
Azul
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Azul » Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:25 am

I can probably send you my .csv file if you don't use MTGO and need to see the file structure. It seems to be just comma delineated.
User avatar
Azul
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Canada

Postby gaddlord » Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:40 pm

The structure should be like this:

Code: Select all
Card Name,Online,For Trade,Rarity,Set,No.,Premium
Planeswalker Decks,1,0,DPA, ,No
Avatar - Serra Angel,1,0,R,VAN,1/129,No
Avatar - Prodigal Sorcerer,1,0,R,VAN,17/129,No
Avatar - Grinning Demon,1,0,R,VAN,29/129,No
Avatar - Goblin Warchief,1,0,R,VAN,5/129,No
Avatar - Erhnam Djinn,1,0,R,VAN,27/129,No
...


I have written a very fast CSV parser last night. Will test it today.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby gaddlord » Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:43 pm

Please send over to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com your collection. Mine is just 148 cards and may not cover all cases.
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby gaddlord » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:24 pm

The way I export my colelction is:

1. go to collection
2. select all cards
3. export to csv

Image

After doing so the generated CSV has the following column
- Card Name
- Online
- For Trade
- Rarity
- Set
- No.
- Premium

Code: Select all
Card Name,Online,For Trade,Rarity,Set,No.,Premium
Event Ticket,2,0,EVENT, ,No
Barony Vampire,2,0,C,M11,82/249,No
Bloodthrone Vampire,2,0,C,M11,85/249,No


The file that you sent me has fewer columns:
- Qty
- Card Name
- Premium

Code: Select all
Qty,Card Name,Premium
2,Abyssal Specter
1,Academy Ruins
1,Acidic Slime
1,Acquire
...


What can be the cause of such discrepancy?
GET LATEST STABLE http://www.mtgstudio.com/download.aspx
Send feature requests and bugs to gaddlord@mtgstudio.com or vote online.
User avatar
gaddlord
MTG Studio Team
MTG Studio Team
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Europe

Postby Azul » Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:08 pm

Gadd, you are amazing for working on this :)

Obviously it should benefit you through more sales in the long run but it's nice to see a developer really listening to the suggestions of his clientele. The MTGO deck builder is pretty dismal and your program has been perfect for me.
User avatar
Azul
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Azul » Tue May 10, 2011 1:21 pm

For anyone following the thread, you get a .csv file with less info if you are in the deck editor.
User avatar
Azul
Planeswalker
Planeswalker
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Collection Suggestions (MTG Studio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron